Leftover Turkey Soup

My dear husband bought me a copy of My Kitchen Year by Ruth Reichl, who just happens to be my favorite food writer.  Ever.  I was thrilled to read her recipes and discover that they are more about the art of cooking than the science of it.  Although there is an element of science behind food, it also is an art.  For example, there are thousands of recipes for any one item, but it is the spice mixture and the amount of ingredients that make each recipe unique and a work of art.

My husband is a full time grad student and we have two growing little boys with seemingly bottomless stomachs.  Money can be a little tight some months, and so when we had tons of . . . less than delicious leftover turkey and gravy from Thanksgiving, naturally I wanted to save some pennies and so throwing out food was unquestionable.  Instead, I diced the turkey into 1/2-inch cubes and portioned off the gravy.  I’ve made this soup a couple of times now, and we love it.  I add different things each time, to make it a bit of a work of art.

20151226_152021

Leftover Turkey Soup

1-2 cups diced turkey (cooked)

2 cups gravy

2/3 cup long grain white rice

1 cups water (plus more, as needed)

salt and pepper, to taste

Add-ins: diced celery, carrots, sweet potatoes, onion, etc.

Put everything in a pot.  Add additional water until everything is barely submerged.  Simmer for 20 minutes, or until rice is tender.

 

 

Leave a Reply

